Korean Lesson 1

September 25, 2008 § 3 Comments

I love Korean.  Granted I am Korean but I love learning about Korean culture and all the little idiosyncrasies within it.  I learn languages to learn more about the cultures and people of different areas and so studying Korean also gives me opportunities to learn about the Korean culture I didn’t get to learn growing up in America. The more words I learn, the more I can understand Korean humor.  Korean tv shows often have subtitles in Korean so use them to practice.  It’s funny because they won’t subtitle the whole sentence but just the shocking or funny words.  For example let’s say someone said, “I was going to the market yesterday and a baby threw up on me..”  They will bold THREW UP in huge letters and repeat it all over the screen.

..That wasn’t the greatest example but you get the point!

Anyway, you first must learn the alphabet.  Korean is phonetic language so we have letters to represent the consonants and vowels. A lot of people describe the Korean alphabet as a whole bunch of circles and lines, which is actually pretty true. If you look below you will see the letters and the romanization of how to pronounce the sound and the actual letter.  For the vowels, we call the letters the same way we pronounce them.  However, for the constants it is different.  Memorize these first and let me know if you have any questions.  In Korean we will always have at least one constant and one vowel in a syllable.  If we want only the vowel sound, we will put an “ng” (circle shape) there.

Have fun!

§ 3 Responses to Korean Lesson 1

  • Nis says:

    Hey!!
    Just happen to come across your blog. I think it’s very cool that you are learning all these languages. Given that, these are not easy to learn, I wish you all the best! (: You said that you are a korean?! I just so happen to be crazy about the language. Am trying to learn it by myself. Though it’s not very easy, The harder I find it, the more interseted I am. (: I was thinking if maybe you could help me with it? I also happen to be learnin chinese as my second language. We can help each other out. (: How’s that sound? (: Can’t wait to be able to read, speak and understand korean. It’s a BEAUTIFUL language!!! (:
    Thank you in advance!

  • Is it possible for you to put in audio links so we can hear the pronounceation?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Korean Lesson 1 at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

