Graduation advice

May 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

Woohoo!  Friday was my graduation ceremony for ISF (UGIS).  I’ve been so busy though so it hasn’t really soaked in.  College graduations at UCs are so impersonal because you hardly know a third (if even) of your graduating classmates.   It was really chilly that day and all I really remember is that my cap kept sliding off.  Thanks to everyone who came!  I didn’t really invite that many people because I know how boring these ceremonies are and to be honest, I was only going so that my mom could see me walk.  She was in the hospital during my high school ceremony (which was much cooler because I got to go on the big screen *woot!*) so she really wanted to see this one.  Anyway, I just wanted to record the advice that I received this year.  =)

Case in point

Case in point

Robert Reich: “Don’t plan your life”

Robert Reich: “May your work be filled with purpose, may your job be filled with meaning, may your lives be filled with joy”

Bathroom stall on campus (through Nisha): “Go big or go home”

Mom: “Find God now”

Sis: “Don’t get fat”….5 minutes of reasons why being fat detrimentally affects your life

5 Lessons a Millionaire Taught Me (through my cousin Caroline): “Repeat after me, ‘Today is the day I decide to be wealthy, be it materially, financially, spiritually, or emotionally'”

Someone much wiser (again through my cousin Caroline): “Even after all this time, the sun never says to the Earth, ‘you owe me.’  Look what happens with a love like that, it lights up the whole sky”


Random (non-graduation related)

Sis: “Don’t feel bad about not giving a homeless person food or money…they’re better off than you (referring to my student loans/debt)”

Connie (she didn’t say this but I learned this from her experience): Don’t listen to your boyfriend when he says that it won’t take that long to get to the airport

Bethany Franco (through Caroline): “To stay naturally thin, try not to swallow any of your food”

Sis: “Flossing is more important than brushing”

Caroline: “If you’re not going to read any books after college, AT LEAST watch Oprah”

§ 2 Responses to Graduation advice

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Graduation advice at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

