My first full day in Seoul

May 28, 2009 § 1 Comment

After a day of listless wandering around the apartment in the heat, I went out with my brother and a new friend to eat dinner.  It was interesting meeting an expat from Canada who is Chinese-Vietnamese.  She is ethnically Chinese but her family is from Vietnam.

We ate at a place called Bulgogi Brothers that was ridiculously expensive but very clean and orderly inside.  The best things about the restaurant was the meat quality and service.  My cup was never empty and they would come over to turn the meat for us on the grill.  Usually it is really smoky at places like this but their ventilation system must be top notch because I didn’t notice any smoke.  Anyway, while I was googling the name of the restaurant to make sure I got it right, I came across this great article on the history of bulgogi.  Check it out if you have some free time.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122539130720484947.html

After dinner my brother and I went to watch the Korean movie, Mother, at COEX.

poster

poster

It amazes me how good Koreans are at producing disturbing thrillers.  If you are into dark or artfully directed movies, I highly suggest Mother, Old Boy, and Lady Vengeance.  Don’t blame me when you get nightmares though.

I had so many poignant thoughts today through observing people or conversing with my brother but it sounds so trite and uninspiring when I try to write it down.  I really need to practice my skills as a writer in conveying the appropriate tone and producing the desired effect.  I’ll try again tomorrow but for now just know that I am learning a lot that makes me stop and think about who I am and where I come from.

I’ll end this post with a few cool things I discovered today:

  • You can un-press elevators in my brother’s building!  Don’t you hate it when you accidentally press the wrong floor and have to make an additional stop?  Problem solved!
  • “Etiquette flush” buttons in every bathroom stall (at least in the COEX, a mall).  I saw this when I visited five years ago but I actually used it today.  =D
  • The restaurant I got a to-go porridge from today morning wrapped my food like a present! It was so pretty and they even wrap you some side dishes.
§ One Response to My first full day in Seoul

  • Caroline says:

    Fun stuff now. I feel like I’m vicariously traveling in Korea with you.

    P.S. you really should have taken a picture of the present porridge.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My first full day in Seoul at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

