Movenpick and Silver Wing Restaurant

July 15, 2009 § 1 Comment

I think Movenpick should hire me as part of their marketing team.  I love them so much.  If I could only eat one food item for the rest of my life, I would choose Movenpick chocolate ice cream.

Last time I went to Movenpick I picked up a business card with all their stores in Taiwan listed on the back.  At 5pm I had about an hour to kill before meeting my dinner party so I decided to go on a quest to find yet another Movenpick in Taipei.  However, I was thwarted by my inability to read traditional Chinese characters!  Because I couldn’t read (or was too lazy to look up) the characters on the business card, I decided to search for the only one in English.  It said SOGO (a department store chain) B-2.  As I was transferring trains at Zhongxiao Fuxing, I saw a sign that said SOGO.  Jackpot!

I immediately got off and started my search.  After reaching B-2 and not seeing the lovely tan sign that represents my  precious ice cream, I stopped to ask a clerk.

Turns out, the Movenpick was at a different SOGO very far away.  =(  The closest one was still at Taipei Main Station.   What a disappointment!  Tomorrow I am going to get some Movenpick at Taipei Main to make up for it.  In my defense, I have to go there anyway to transfer trains.

On my way back from failing to eat my Movenpick, I encountered the tallest man I have seen in Taipei so far.  He had to stoop while entering the metro and only had an inch or so between his head and the ceiling.  This picture REALLY does not do him justice because he is bending his head down AND standing next to a tall Asian guy but here it is anyway:

IMG_2191Sorry it’s so far away and blurry.  I was trying not to appear to be too much of a stalker.  I was so fascinated by him that I followed him all the way to the other side of the station without paying attention to where I was going.  Luckily he was going on the same line that I needed to ride, albeit not the same direction.  Sometimes I think about just picking a stranger and following them around to see what their life is like.  I know it sounds scary and stalker-esque and if someone did that to me it would be really creepy but I think it would be really interesting to do.

Moving on, today I ate dinner at Silver Wing Restaurant.

IMG_2198I met with Li Ayi, her husband, and two of her husband’s former students who are now married.  Basically I was with four teachers… three of whom were professors at various universities in Taiwan.  Talk about educated!  They all spoke fluent English (I think they all majored in English or something closely related) and were such nice and interesting people.  The food was really good but I didn’t take any pictures so I can’t show you.  =(

Something I really liked about this restaurant was that the waitress really acted as a host.  The restaurant treated the customers like family, not a customer.  The waitress patiently answered all our questions regarding the food and gave recommendations for what was good.  A few moments after we ordered, she came back and told us that the amount of food we ordered was too much for the five of us to finish and that we should cancel one.  She gave us two choices to cancel (keeping in mind the proportions of the dish) and then went back to the kitchen with our amended order.

I was flabbergasted.  Since when do restaurants actually care about whether or not a customer can finish a dish?  The more we order, the more money for them!  What Ginger (the female student who is now a professor) said is that the restaurant knows that if they save the customer money now, the customer is more likely to come back next time.  I’m not sure how sound that logic is from a business standpoint but for me, it wouldn’t be the money they saved me that would bring me back.  It would be my newfound respect and admiration for an institution that employs people with that much integrity.  Oh, and the small fact that their food was great.  =)

If you want to try this restaurant out, let me know and I will give you their address.  Silver Wing is the direct translation of their Mandarin name so a google search probably won’t bring up anything.  I have been collecting business cards from all the places I’ve been to (if they have one) so just let me know where you want to visit and once I get back to America and organize them, I can let you know their exact information.  I am also currently compiling a list of my favorite restaurants in Seoul to send to a friend that is planning to visit there so I will post that here as well when it is complete.  See you tomorrow!

§ One Response to Movenpick and Silver Wing Restaurant

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movenpick and Silver Wing Restaurant at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

