Swing dancing in Taipei

July 17, 2009 § 1 Comment

I met up with some swing dancers today!  I am proud to say that I now have many friends in Taiwan:  Mindy, Billy, Maria, Jason, Mary, Joey, and Derrick were all so nice and wonderful.  I met many more dancers but I either forgot their names or am too tired to remember them.

The Taipei swing scene is much smaller than the ones in the other countries I’ve been to but I still had lots of fun.  In a way, I like it better because everyone is so much closer and tight-knit.  It’s still relatively new though so I’m sure it will be booming in a couple years.

Live band

Live band

Every Friday there is dancing at a restaurant called Capone’s (Sun Yat Sen Memorial Station, exit 2).  The dance floor was pretty tiny but luckily not too many couples were out at once.

Because it was my last day in Taipei, it was bittersweet meeting all these wonderful people.  Mindy and I laughed a lot about our mutual friends in the Asian swing dance scene (especially Min-Q oppa!) and Mary and I had quite a long conversation about our lives.  Mary lived in Vancouver for twelve years before moving to Taiwan for medical school so her English was perfect.  It was pretty easy communicating with everyone and we spoke a mixture of Mandarin and English.

There was this one person though (I don’t even know his name) who was really hard to communicate with!  He was visiting from Osaka, Japan, and could not speak very good English or Mandarin.  He knew Kanji (traditional Chinese characters) though so he would write characters on a piece of paper or try to use a few words in English or Mandarin.  Other times he would just speak in Japanese and people would stare at him blankly.  I started talking to him in my broken Japanese but WOW!  I can’t believe how much I forgot in half a year.  It’s incredible.  ALL my conjugations, MOST of my vocabulary… right out the window.  I’ve decided that I am going to use my time in Japan to seriously recover my Japanese.  Here are some of the tools I am planning to use:

http://www.studyjapanese.org/

http://www.nhk.or.jp/lesson/english/

http://talksushi.com/

http://www.yesjapan.com/

Those links lead to various Japanese learning websites that I have yet to explore.  I didn’t really work on improving my Mandarin while I was in Shanghai or Taiwan but I plan to study hard in Japan.  It was so frustrating not being able to get my intent through.

I have to leave for the airport in a couple hours and I have yet to pack (or sleep) so I am going to end my post here.  Next time you hear from me, I will be somewhere in Japan.  See you soon!

P.S.  Sorry the quality of my blog has gone down during the last few days.  While some of you lazy bums are probably happy that I’m just posting pictures without much text, I know you more serious readers have been lamenting the demise of my explanations.  I will try harder to write more meaningful or interesting posts while I am in Japan but it will be hard because I will have limited Internet access.

§ One Response to Swing dancing in Taipei

  • Laura says:

    You should invest in Rosetta Stone. Are you meeting swing dancers in Japan? Have a safe flight jo! Who are you staying with?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Swing dancing in Taipei at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

