Last day in Kyoto: Kami River, Kyoto Tower

July 24, 2009 § 3 Comments

Every time I leave another place it is just as bittersweet as the previous departure.  Although there are still many things I would have wanted to see in Kyoto if I had more time, I have to say that I had a very fitting last day.

We packed a picnic lunch and ate river by the Kami River.  To get there we biked the same exact path we took the first day on our way to the church.  It was just as hot but a little easier than the first time.  Our lunch consisted of salmon sashimi, rice, apples, and fresh vegetables (tomatoes and cucumbers).  The previous night I had insisted that we make a lunch for the both of us for less than $5 and even though Gomi had no faith and said it was impossible, we did it!  It was actually a little over that amount because we used an apple and rice that she already had at home but I’m still proud of us.  We bought the sashimi at night so it was discounted and the other items were fairly reasonably priced considering that it is Japan and produce is ridiculously expensive.

IMG_3274Sitting by the river allowed me to vicariously go fishing while watching these two boys.  Gomi kept on telling me to go ask them if I could fish but they weren’t catching anything so I didn’t bother asking.

IMG_3269After fishing we went and got my second favorite dessert in Japan (after matcha soft serve): milk tea McFlurry!  I tried it for the first time yesterday and I had to have it again.  I sent Gomi away and ordered it all by myself.  Later when I repeated to her what I had said to the cashier lady she said, “you consulted your phrase book huh?”  lol.  I was peeved that she assumed that I had to look up what to say but since it was true I just sheepishly said yeah.  Hehehe.

IMG_3277We then moseyed along to Kyoto Tower and went up to see the view from the top.  We were reluctant to go up at first because it was so pricey but in hindsight, I’m glad we did.  Gomi had never been up the tower and it was so cool seeing all the places we had visited during the last few days.  Everything was really clearly labeled on the observation deck and they even had free telescopes every few steps for people to use.

IMG_3304

The view

The view

After the tower I went back to Gomi’s dorm, finished packing, and left for the train station.  Gomi dropped me off and we said our goodbyes.

Every time I say goodbye to people I meet on this trip, I am always filled with such a sense of gratitude.  They allowed me to be a part of their lives, no matter the length of time, and have given me such cherished memories.  Gomi is no exception and I feel very lucky that I was able to come to Japan and reconnect with her after all these years.

My visit was filled with some hilarious moments that I don’t think either of us will ever forget.  I think I laughed the hardest and acted the silliest during this portion of the trip.  Being with people from your past almost takes your personality back to that time.   It was so funny for me to torment her by being such a tourist.  Gomi is one of those people who you love to tease because her reaction is so extreme.  Although some people call it anger, I see it more as exasperated frustration.  She was such an awesome host though and did everything from procure a bike for me to cut up vegetables for our lunch while I was packing.  But besides Gomi, I’m so glad I got to reconnect and meet other people on this brief trip.  I know for a fact that I wouldn’t have met Miller or skyped with Annie and Pauline if I hadn’t visited Gomi so I’m also really thankful for that as well.  Hopefully the next time I see them will not be in another four years but I’m confident that even if it is, it will still be just as fun. =)

§ 3 Responses to Last day in Kyoto: Kami River, Kyoto Tower

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Last day in Kyoto: Kami River, Kyoto Tower at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

