I’m back

July 30, 2009 § Leave a comment

I always feel like death after a long flight.  However, hunger precedes tiredness and look what I ate upon arrival:

IMG_3820

Haha.  I guess KFC just says home to me.  I had no desire whatsoever to eat it while I was abroad but when faced with my limited choices, it seemed like the most fitting first meal.

The trip was amazing.  And I feel like I will trivialize it if I try to sum it up in words.  I know that the things I saw and learned will be with me and influence me for the rest of my life.  All the relationships I’ve developed and the wonderful people I’ve met will continue to be a presence in my life.  It’s crazy to think that I left two months ago with only a faint connection or network within each of these countries but I leave Asia knowing that I have a place to stay, good friends, and many things I still want to do upon return in each country.

Even though traveling alone wasn’t always the easiest, I’m glad I did it because it opened up so many more opportunities for me.  I am so thankful for everyone that I met and all the love and kindness that was displayed during the last two months from all parts of the globe.

People asked me during the last few days of my trip if I was excited to be returning home but honestly, I was more sad about leaving.  I don’t know when or if I will meet again some of the people I’ve come to know and cherish and I really hope that they don’t forget me.

That said, I’ve decided to continue this blog as a means to keep my friends abroad connected with my activities in the US.  I will not be updating it with my daily activities like I did while I traveled abroad but with random thoughts or cool sightings I come across in my daily life.  Feel free to continue viewing but if you only read this for the travel content, I will not be offended if you stop reading.  Thank you for coming on this journey with me and giving me a reason to continue updating.

Love,

Joanna

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m back at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

