Insert salutation

August 21, 2009 § Leave a comment

No point in studying big words only not to use them, right?

I will admit-I’ve equivocated when asked about my future in the past.  Mostly because I don’t want people to worry about my impecunious physical state or somewhat despondent state of mind.  After my sojourn to Asia I found solace in the fact that I would be doing uplifting work.  Yet last week I came to a juncture when I had to decide whether or not to stick with the project.  I was relegated to being basically a fundraiser for the time being.  In the end, I acceded to the situation because it seemed apposite for a human rights major to work on a human rights project.  Luckily everyone I work with is decorous and there is no one I would call a knave.  There is one girl with a strident voice but she doesn’t come in often.  The first time I met her she gave me a reproof for wanting to work at the UN.  Not so tactful, this one.  Yet, I harbor no antipathy for her.  She means well and is very intelligent, albeit a bit pretentious.

Okay, I’m done with using big words.

Although I’ve always wanted to study words and expand my vocabulary, I always needed another reason to do so.  Such is my temperament.  I like to be efficient so one reason alone usually isn’t enough to justify spending so much time on something.  Studying the meanings of these words made me realize how superficially I understood them.  Often times I discover that I only had a feel for the words and am surprised to find secondary definitions that blow my mind.  It’s fun but with my goldfish-like attention span it’s hard to get a lot done.  I actually find myself more productive on days where I have a lot to do, as opposed to days where I stay home and tell myself that I will study but instead do everything but that.  Hehe.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Insert salutation at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

