Twitter

August 28, 2009 § 1 Comment

I made a twitter account today.  For those of you that also use it, my user name is jokilydokily.  I would have liked to use jokidoki but it was taken.

Why did I make a twitter?  Well, it is a quite complicated story.  I resisted from jumping on the bandwagon for a long time now, mostly because I didn’t see a need for another social networking site.  I also tend to shy away from trendy things because of their transient nature and I find things unappealing when there is too much hype.  Even after making a Twitter, I am still not convinced of its added value. It’s just like Facebook status updates, no?  With less privacy controls.  I don’t like how it shows everything I write to other people.  Hehe.  I’m sure I will be griping prolifically about Twitter once I actually start learning how to use it properly.  But who knows, I may be extolling its virtues in a few days.

Anyway, the reason I made a twitter is simply to learn the ins and outs of how to use it because I realized today that it is useful knowledge to know when undertaking a marketing campaign.

Today I sat in a day full of meetings at a publishing house in San Francisco because the professor I am working with has written a book that will be launched in April.  I find it fascinating to learn about the process of publishing not only from the author’s point of view, but also from the publishing house’s point of view.  Although I do complain quite a bit about my current job (because of the paltry pay and ridiculous work load), I have to admit that I do get to partake in some unique experiences and meet some very interesting people.   I don’t want to write too much about the details of the book deal because it is not my story to tell (not to mention I could get sued or fired), but basically a good portion of the meeting was dedicated to digital marketing.  We talked about Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Digg, Stumble, RSS Feeds, and more.  It was an eye opening experience for me because the average age of the meeting attendees was probably 45 years old and everyone but myself was Caucasian.  I was surprised at how Internet savvy some of the staff members were.

For some reason I thought that only young people (or people working in the computer field) knew how to use the Internet.  Hehe.  Oops.  And even though I knew times were changing, I didn’t think companies actually strategized Facebook and Twitter campaigns and invested a lot of time, money, and resources just for that cause.  To me it is still a bit ridiculous but I suppose I have to accept it as part of the world I am working in right now.

Thus ends my Twitter story.  Feel free to follow me, but like my blog, know that I am too PC to be very entertaining.  =*(  Darn my overwhelming sense of propriety!  Ugh.

§ One Response to Twitter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Twitter at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

