Bejeweled Blitz

October 13, 2009 § 2 Comments

I have an inherent “discovery” tardiness.

That said, my obsession for the day is Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook.  My sister and cousin have been playing it religiously (as seen by their 300,000+ scores) but today was my first time.  It was fun at first but soon grew to become an evil, parasitic application that would not release me from its dramatic yet thoroughly enjoyable sound effects and sparkly visuals.  After playing for two straight hours I was consumed by the desire for a ringpop.

The only other time I played Bejeweled was on a friend’s smart phone.  I have friends who are in the video game/facebook/iphone app programming industry and I think they could learn a thing or two from Bejewled Blitz.

First, the corny but euphonic sound effects.  Yes, the lighting sound effect is a little overdone but when I finally break that star gem, I want a result worthy of a bad Hollywood film!  Which brings us to the visuals.  The visual effects are reminiscent of what games looked like ten years ago.  But they work.  And the makers of the game probably saved a lot of money by using those visuals as opposed to creating, new, more realistic effects.

Third, and most importantly, it’s simple.  The instructions are very straightforward and any person with decent motor skills can play.  Of course, if you want to become a high scorer, dexterity and your brain come in to play, but most people won’t spend the time to become 300,000+ scorers (Unless your name starts with L and ends in aura).

One of my other favorite gaming sites is omgpop.com.  I was a frequent visitor when it was iminlikewithyou.com (I used to play it endlessly when I was recovering from my wisdom tooth surgery about a year ago) but now I only go once in a while to play the new, and sub-par version of Blockles.  There are a lot of other good sites out there but seeing as I should at least keep up the semblance of a productive life, I will stop my recommendations here.  Feel free to list your favorites so I can visit them tomorr.. I mean, when I get a break from my busy, busy life.  =)

§ 2 Responses to Bejeweled Blitz

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bejeweled Blitz at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

