Random Acts of Kindness

October 14, 2009 § 6 Comments

About five years ago, I watched the movie Pay it Forward.  I don’t remember the details but I do remember thinking that it was a really sweet movie and that more people should do random acts of kindness and pay it forward.  And although it was not a novel idea, the movie was nice because it allowed viewers to see the potential full circle effect of one random act of kindness.

Today while I was waiting for the BART, a lady was on the phone crying a few feet away from where I was sitting.  I didn’t mean to eavesdrop but she was the only one talking in the station.  It sounded like her father was in the process of finding out if he had cancer or not and she was visibly upset, talking to either a friend or sibling.

I realized in that moment that I am like a sponge when it comes to emotions.  I don’t display any change in my exterior but my heart felt heavier as I listened to her plight.  Moments earlier I had been happy and carefree, observing a cute mixed boy enjoy his ice cream (his parents were very loving).

Anyway, after sitting there and not doing anything for a few minutes, I gathered up my courage and offered her a new pack of tissue I had in my bag that I had been saving (it was from Japan).  It was intimidating because you never know how people will react when they are upset and I didn’t want her to feel like I was intruding on her personal moment.

She took the tissues with a thank-you and I as I boarded the BART I was happy to see that she was using them (she had previously been using her coat sleeve to wipe her tears).  My heart felt lighter as I watched her switch trains.

It was then that I decided that I would start logging my random acts of kindness.  Any acts given or received will be noted in this blog.  There are rules though.  It really has to be random.  Meaning, I cannot know the person I am interacting with.  It has to be a stranger.  And, it can’t be somewhere like a homeless shelter or something.  It has to be an isolated event that can truly be classified as random.  If you have any random acts of kindness (given or received) please feel free to share!

=)

§ 6 Responses to Random Acts of Kindness

  • L says:

    *cough cough*

    “Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.
    So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

    Matthew 6:1-4

  • Mike says:

    Hi
    Would this site http://www.helpfromhome.org/ be helpful to you in performing random acts of kindness. It features loads of micro-volunteering actions that can all be done from your own home and you wouldn’t know the people you are helping.

    • jokidoki says:

      Hey Mike, that’s a great website and I hope lots of people use it! For my random acts of kindness it wouldn’t fit (because it wouldn’t be random) but I’ll be sure to check it out as a “regular act of kindness” sort of thing. =)

  • Namhyoung says:

    Hey, long time no see!
    I’ve watched that movie recently for my english class, and it was really motivating to do things which can be called “virtue” for others in the real life, but it’s hard to do actual thing.I’m so proud that you bravely did that.
    Anyway, these days my head is complicated for my major.I’m not sure about everyday i do at school is my favorite.To live success during one’s whole life, i think,one should do, learn, earn moneys, enjoying what one’s doing… I’m waiting for your opinion.
    and see you!

    • jokidoki says:

      Ahnyoung! =) I’m so happy you are using my blog to practice your English! Hehehe. To be honest, the mentality in America is so different than the one in Korea (in terms of major and life goal). You just need to find your own path and dreams! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Random Acts of Kindness at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

