My New Friend Bill

November 26, 2009 § 3 Comments

My lovely cousin got me sick so the last couple days have been spent sweating and shivering while my white blood cells duke it out with the virus.  However, that did free up some of my non-sleeping time to spend some time with my friend Bill.  Bill Clinton that is. =D

Now, my sister and cousin get so annoyed when I do that (refer to famous people as if they were my real friends) but I think it’s nice.  What can I say, I make new friends easily. =) Anyway, I’ve been reading his autobiography and even though I haven’t even gotten past the first few chapters, I’ve already learned so much about him.

First of all, he is old! It was quite shocking to hear him talk about how his school was segregated and how he was the only white kid in his neighborhood that played with the black kids.  His upbringing was so drastically different than mine, simply in terms of the time period we were raised in.

Second, his family had some serious ups and downs while he was growing up.  The story that most resonated with me was when he mentioned how his step father shot a gun at the wall in between Bill and his mother while the stepfather was in a drunken rage.

Third, Clinton is actually his stepfather’s surname and not his birth father’s real name.  Did you know that?  I could go on and on.  =)

§ 3 Responses to My New Friend Bill

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Friend Bill at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

