Last Episode of Movers and Changers

December 15, 2009 § 5 Comments

The last episode of Movers and Changers is up.  Ugh, I hate how they used that clip of me during the presentation!  Did they HAVE to include me saying that I was flustered? -_-  Basically what happened was that Kyson and Stephanie went a little overtime and so I had to explain my seven or so slides in less than two and a half minutes.  Then to top it off, during my last two slides, one of the producers was sitting in the background, right in front of me, gesturing like frantic to get me to stop talking.

Now, that is no excuse for me letting that faze me, thus my unhappiness (shown in the episode) at how the presentation went.  The question and answer portion went pretty well and overall I thought it went alright.  We definitely could have prepared more and what not, but considering the circumstances I think it was fine.  I went into the whole thing more as a learning experience than anything else.  And  in that sense, I think we won.

Although it was exciting to see how they edited the show and all, I think Allan, my sister, and cousin were way more excited to watch it than I was.  From day one they all pestered me to tell them the results but I wouldn’t budge in my determination to keep the results secret.  They tried everything from threats, bribes, and all kinds of tricks but I made them wait until today.

Anyway, a big (public) congratulations to Wet Tea, Safe Snip, and Bamboo Lota!  We all basically won.  They don’t make this clear in the video but the judges pitched in money to raise the prize money for the two other teams to $20,000.  The $15,000 they mention is in addition to the $5,000 we already won as a finalist. It’s pretty amazing to think that a simple idea and some research got us this far.  Bamboo Lota plans to use the money we won to actually travel to Africa and institute a pilot project with a partner nonprofit.  We’ve been working hard and streamlining our business model to make it more realistic.  Hopefully in the future, you will hear of us again.

=)

§ 5 Responses to Last Episode of Movers and Changers

  • Caroline says:

    Hey wow. Good thing I ended up watching the episode even though we spoiled the results in the car today. That’s so cool for the rest of the judges to pitch in money. I guess you guys did win. YOu guys are only like $5,000 away from the grand prize.

    So anyways, as your biggest fan, you should use that money to fly me to SF and eat some Zachary’s & Ike’s.

  • L says:

    Whooooa, I didn’t even have to watch the last episode to get this update. Awesome. Wow it’s so cool and all you finalists definitely won. Wear a ring on your wedding finger and keep yourself covered.

  • A says:

    I’m glad all that effort amounted to something!

  • A says:

    btw, first line first para – it should be “faze” not “phase”

  • Erica says:

    Congratulations Joanna! I watched all your episodes! Wow you are so amazing. I’m glad all your hard work paid off, and I have to say I’m a proud friend 🙂 Hope you have a Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Last Episode of Movers and Changers at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

