Things I love

January 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

  • Animals
  • People
  • Food

In that order.  If I saw a dying baby animal next to a dying baby human next to some chocolate ice cream, I would go to the dying baby first.  However, I have to admit that my heart would most strongly pull towards the baby animal.   And as much as I love chocolate ice cream, it would become irrelevant in that situation.

My parents never really empathized with me regarding my love for animals.  When I was younger and said that I wanted to be a veterinarian my mom always said asked me why I didn’t “just study a few more years and become a doctor.”  At that time my only answer was, “BECAUSE I DON’T WANT TO,” but now that I’m older I feel like I can verbalize it a little better.

I feel like humans have done so much to destroy animals’ lives and natural habitats that we have an obligation to treat them well and protect them from ourselves.  My childhood dream was always to start my own no-kill humane society.  However, as I progressed in my university education and subsequent Human Rights major, the focus shifted to humans.  Humans who were so degraded that others often saw them on the same level as animals and treated them so.  Humans who didn’t have the resources to fight back.

I still want to help both species.  But the more I interact with animals, both physically (Kimchi) and virtually (BBC, Life of Mammals), the more I want to find a job where I can just observe them or play with them.  When people ask me what my dream job is, I often say that I would want to be the host of an international food television program.  However, tantamount with that profession would be naturalist and Nature/History program host (like David Attenborough).

Which leads me to ask… what’s yours?

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I love at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

