We the People, the Citizen, and the Constitution

January 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

Four years ago I was a part of my school’s “We the People, the Citizen, and the Constitution” team (aka Gov team or We the People).  It was an amazing experience and a tremendous amount of fun.  More than anything, I become very close with three amazing people who I would never have known otherwise.

I’ve kept in touch with most of my teammates (there were 24 of us total) and they have gone on to PhDs (Chemistry, Political Science, Computer Science, etc.), law school, pharmacy school, medical school, started businesses and nonprofits, and much, much more.  I loved gov team because it exponentially broadened my view of the world.  It also humbled me because of the caliber of students in my unit (6 Unit!).

Today, I randomly decided to check my old hotmail account (now Windows Live).  Coincidentally, my gov team coach’s wife had sent me an email today regarding her daughter’s achievement.  Kelly was also a gov team alumni and also in Unit 6. Apparently she was just elected as one of four finalists for National Teacher of the Year!

http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/ne/yr10/yr10rel8.asp

Sifting through all the other junk in my inbox, I also came across a message my teacher sent me regarding the We the People program.  He sent a link asking alumni to endorse the program, presumably so funding would not be cut.  It would be such a shame if support for the We the People program stalled and the program gets cut.  I have met so many people who came out of the program from other schools and we all had nothing but good things to say about the experience.  If I had not participated in this program, I know I would be a different person today. If you have a chance, go to the link and endorse the program.. and please encourage others to do the same.

http://www.civiced.org/index.php?page=national_endorsement_form&&pid=888888

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We the People, the Citizen, and the Constitution at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

