Alaskan Fishing

April 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

After snowboarding in Tahoe for the first time, I was re-inspired to start planning my trip to Alaska with my dad.  After hearing an acquaintance rave about salmon fishing in Alaska, I made it my goal to one day go and explore the icy terrain and freezing waters for myself.  I wasn’t actually planning to go for a while but with the recent developments in my father’s health, I decided sooner was better than later.

For those of you who would also like to venture to Alaska to fish, let me save you a lot of time by saying… it’s ridiculously expensive.  Luckily there are a lot of packages that exist, circumventing your need to buy fishing gear and tools for the trip, but even so… airfare, lodging, meals, fishing guides… it adds up.  It’s pretty depressing to think that I will be spending a good part of my savings on this trip but at the same time, how can you put a price tag on an experience like this?  Even though I haven’t gone many times in my life, I love fishing and I have my dad to thank for that.  He used to be an avid fisherman before me and my two siblings were born and I’m sure he would have loved to go more had he not been working to support us.

=)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alaskan Fishing at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

