Digital SLR

April 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am preparing to take the plunge into amateur photography.  That said, my arsenal of tools would not be complete without a digital slr camera.  And although it has been a slow learning process, I already find ISO settings, lens mms, sensor sizes, etc. so interesting.  Currently I am leaning towards getting a Canon Rebel T1i, used.  While the XS is known to be a good camera, I want one with some more advanced features to take me though the next few years.  I know buying a used camera online is really risky but hopefully with enough research and background checks, I can find a trusty vendor.  I also hope to find some good additional lenses to enable better focus, etc.  Last but not least, I have contacted Junshien (www.junshien.com) to become my photography mentor.  All this does not come cheaply but I know it will be worth it.  Beautiful photos are timeless, and in my opinion, one of the best gifts you can give to another person

My recent resolve to really start studying photography as a discipline is a result of my failed attempts to take my dad on a trip.  For the last few months I have been trying to save up and plan “the trip of a lifetime” for my dad to hopefully allow him to do some of the things he always wanted to do before it is time for him to leave.  I assumed so many things about my dad when researching for these trips and didn’t really ask him what he wanted.  I was being so selfish, planning trips that were more for my enjoyment than his (Korea, Alaska, etc.).  And although I think he would have enjoyed those trips, I’ve realized that all he really wants is to spend time with family and could care less about the locale or specific activity.

I still plan on taking him to some local trips like Yosemite, but in the mean time, I plan to hone my photography skills so I can help capture some nice moments.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Digital SLR at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

