Where to Buy Your DSLR: Amazon.com

May 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

Once I decided on the camera I wanted (Canon EOS Rebel T1i, body only, and Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II Lens), I spend three days researching where to get the best deal.  Before I started on that arduous journey, two reliable sources had recommended Amazon.  But being the stubborn person that I am, I spent the next three days searching high and low for the best price.  And guess where I found it… yeah, that’s right… Amazon.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  There are plenty of places to buy a slightly cheaper camera.  But once you factor in shipping cost, reliability, and trustworthiness, Amazon wins.  This ordeal has taught me that there is no “outlet” camera store and rarely are there significant discounts on cameras once you get into the $700 and up range.  There were a few deals at places like Sams Club or Costco but either they did not have the exact model I wanted or the promotion was not running in the areas I had access to.  I also considered Ebay and/or buying a used or refurbished camera but because I intend to use this camera for a very long time, I decided to spend the extra $50-100 and buy it new.

If you are in the market for your first DSLR, check out this article from Photo Tuts Plus: http://photo.tutsplus.com/articles/the-ultimate-guide-for-buying-your-first-digital-slr/.  It definitely taught me a thing or two while searching for my camera.  They also have great tutorials on photography in general.

Another great resource is the Canon Digital Learning Center: http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/controller?act=HomePageAct.  Over the next few weeks I will be looking into more photography tutorials so I will share anything good out there.  Oh!  And if you’re just looking for inspiration, get a Stumble Upon account and check photography for some amazing photos.  Enjoy!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where to Buy Your DSLR: Amazon.com at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

