The Smartphone Era

September 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

I just got a smartphone for the first time and I have to say…I am loving it. It was hard for me to justify the cost at first (both for the phone and the service) but now that I’ve had it for a few days I am glad that I switched over. Currently I am updating my blog using the WordPress application for Android. I am also employing the new Swype technology which allows me to type words without lifting my finger from the screen. Needless to say, it saves a lot of time while typing on a phone.

My only complaint about the Samsung Vibrant is regarding the well documented GPS bug. Apparently Samsung is coming out with a fix soon but it still really puts a damper on my enthusiasm for the phone.

Secondly….there are a lot of really horrible applications on the Android marketplace. Does anyone know how to program mobile phone apps? I want to try my hand at programming a simple but well designed application for flashcards and eventually, learning things. Supposedly programming a mobile app is the same as programming anything else but I feel like there is still a good amount of difference.

I’m still on the hunt for interesting apps to download so let me know if you have any suggestions. Maybe now that I have wordpress on my phone I will update more often! I did want to update about something but it is late so I will wait until next time. Goodnight!

§ 2 Responses to The Smartphone Era

  • caroline says:

    After having a smartphone and going back to a regular old phone because I didn’t like how electronics were taking over my life, I miss my smartphone. I’m over the Blackberry phone, but I want the evo now… 😦 I don’t know anything about apps but apparently it’s really simple if you know the programing language. I love that idea of a flashcard app. Is there one out there?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Smartphone Era at You, Me, and Everyone Else.

meta

